This classical building containing some elements of the late Baroque style was constructed in the years 1756–1782 according to the design by Leopold Niederecker. The interior of the church is made up of a large hall with indrawn pillars, around the circumference of which there are nine altarpieces. The main altarpiece, dating back to 1784, with a picture of the Nativity of Virgin Mary by the painter Jakub Quirin Jahn, is a masterpiece of the Trutnov sculptors Rauch and Knitschel. The church also has a unique organ dating back to 1910, which has three thousand pipes. Until the fire of 1799, the 64-metre high church tower on the southern side of the nave had been crowned by a high bulbous-shaped cupola. From early-19th century till the fire of 1861 it had a lower, bell-shaped dome, inspired by the original cupola. Since 1991, 5 bells have been hanging in the tower. The largest one, called Marie, weighs 850kg.
Foto: Miloš Šálek